AR

Who we are

The UAE Food Bank is a non-profit charitable organisation, launched January 4th 2017 under the umbrella of the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives (MBRGI). It is committed to distributing food to those in need while eliminating food waste by collaborating with local authorities as well as local and international charities to create a comprehensive ecosystem to efficiently store, package and distribute excess fresh food from hotels, restaurants and supermarkets. It is the first Food Bank in the United Arab Emirates.
Dubai Municipality oversees the criteria used by the UAE Food Bank to ensure that health and safety regulations are adopted in all steps of the process, including collecting, storing and distributing the meals. It also oversees the management and operation of the food bank.

OUR VISION

  • To reuse most excess food from various entities by collecting, storing and distributing it to those in need.
  • To expand the UAE Food Bank, by strategically opening branches in various parts of the world, and through partnerships with regional and international humanitarian organisations, to become the region’s largest humanitarian body for food distribution.
  • To collect food waste unfit for human consumption, and recycle it in the chemical and fertiliser industries, as well as for energy generation.
  • To reduce the amount of food wasted gradually, and within the framework of a phased plan, so that Dubai can become the first city in the region to achieve zero waste.

OUR MESSAGE

Food is a blessing we must share with those in need. This generosity lies at the heart of Emirati culture.

The UAE Food Bank saves, stores and shares surplus food, aiming to achieve a significant reduction in food wastage while alleviating hunger. The Food Bank will distribute food to the less fortunate members of the community, including labourers, underprivileged families and vulnerable citizens. The initiative aims to both promote social solidarity and instill the value of conserving and sharing food resources.

In close collaboration with all its stakeholders, the UAE Food Bank will follow strict rules and regulations to ensure the highest standard of food quality and maximise the distribution of food to the needy. The ultimate goal of the Food Bank initiative is to achieve a zero food waste environment, alleviate hunger and promote sustainability and environmentally responsible consumption.

OUR GOALS

The objectives of the UAE Food Bank transcend several levels:

Humanitarian

  • To deepen the sense of compassion and responsibility toward the underprivileged by promoting a culture of food sharing.
  • To entrench the culture of giving in the UAE through active participation by people from various social segments in the activities of the UAE Food Bank.
  • To initiate partnerships with the private sector through the Corporate Social Responsibility branches of hospitality and food sector entities. The partnerships will aim to maximise the efficiency of food collection, storage and distribution.
  • To influence social perception and behaviour toward food waste and over-consumption.
  • To promote volunteerism by encouraging various segments of the community to engage in UAE Food Bank campaigns and initiatives.

Economic

  • To save on the cost of discarding food, which in Dubai amounts to AED 282 million annually.
  • To eliminate the expense of wasted food, which amounts to approximately AED 13 billion annually in the UAE.
  • To contribute to sustainably development by recycling inedible food and repurposing it in commercial and industrial industries, including energy-generation.

Environmental

  • To reduce carbon emissions by repurposing food instead of discarding it in traditional methods that contribute to pollution and climate change.
  • To preserve soil and water currently wasted through attrition, and to preserve the UAE’s natural resources for future generations
  • To reduce the chemical pollution produced by chemical fertilizers by promoting organic fertilizer created by surplus food.

EN

من نحن؟

تأسس بنك الإمارات للطعام في 4 يناير 2017، كمؤسسة غير ربحية، تحت مظلة مؤسسة مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم في دبي، حيث يقوم بجمع فائض الطعام من الفنادق والمطاعم وأسواق بيع منتجات الأغذية ومحلات السوبرماركت والمزارع وغيرها، ويوزعها على المحتاجين داخل الدولة وخارجها بالتعاون مع شبكة من المؤسسات الإنسانية والخيرية المحلية والدولية. يشكّل البنك، وهو الأول من نوعه في الإمارات، منظومة إنسانية واجتماعية واقتصادية وحضارية متكاملة لإطعام الطعام، ذات بعد محلي وإقليمي ودولي.
وتقوم بلدية دبي بالإشراف على المعايير المتبعة في 'بنك الإمارات للطعام'، من خلال التأكد من تطبيق قواعد السلامة الصحية المعتمدة في ما يتعلق بحفظ وجبات الطعام وتخزينها، بالإضافة إلى الإشراف على العمليات الإدارية والتشغيلية للبنك.

رؤيتنا

  • الاستفادة من أكبر قدر ممكن من فائض الطعام الصالح للاستهلاك من مختلف المصادر وتوزيعه على المحتاجين والجهات المستحقة
  • تطوير "بنك الإمارات للطعام" ليصبح أكبر منظومة إنسانية لإطعام الطعام في المنطقة، من خلال فروعه ومراكزه المنتشرة في مختلف أنحاء العالم، خاصة في مناطق اللجوء وفي المجتمعات الأقل حظاً، ومن خلال إقامة شراكات مع مؤسسات إنسانية إقليمية ودولية
  • جمع الأطعمة غير الصالحة للاستهلاك، سواء من البيوت أو من محلات السوبرماركت والمطاعم والفنادق وغيرها، بغية إعادة تدويرها، واستخدامها في صناعات أخرى كالصناعات الكيميائية وصناعات الأسمدة وإنتاج الطاقة وغيرها
  • تقليص كمية نفايات الطعام تدريجياً، ضمن خطة مرحلية، بحيث تصل كمية نفايات الطعام إلى "صفر"، لتصبح دبي أول مدينة في المنطقة تحقق "صفر" نفايات، مع وضع خطة مرحلية لتحقيق هذا الهدف، بحيث تشمل الرؤية مختلف إمارات الدولة مستقبلاً

رسالتنا

إن الطعام نعمة، والحفاظ على هذه النعمة من الهدر والسعي للاستفادة منها وتعميمها على المحتاجين يعكس ثقافتنا العربية والإسلامية الأصيلة التي تقوم على المشاركة ومساعدة الآخرين.

يقوم بنك الإمارات للطعام بجمع فائض الطعام وحفظه وإعادة توزيعه، كمبادرة تسهم في تخفيف العبء عن عدد كبير من الفئات المحتاجة والأقل حظاً في المجتمع، كالعُمّال في مواقع العمل المختلفة والأسر المتعففة، الأمر الذي يعمل على تكريس مبدأ التكافل المجتمعي، إلى جانب تكريس ثقافة الاقتصاد وتقليل الهدر، وتعزيز القيم البيئية التي تهدف إلى الحدّ من التلوث البيئي بكل أشكاله.

ويعتمد بنك الإمارات للطعام أفضل الممارسات الدولية في آليات جمع الطعام الفائض وتوزيعه في إطار خطة منهجية تضمن تنسيقاً وتكاملاً بين جهود الأطراف المعنية، من موردين وموزعين ومتطوعين وجهات رقابية على نحو يكفل أن يحقق البنك رسالته الإنسانية التي تتمثل في ترسيخ ثقافة العطاء في المجتمع ومساعدة المحتاجين، بموازاة ترسيخ قيم بيئية مستدامة تنطلق من تكريس مبدأ صون مواردنا والحفاظ عليها من الاستهلاك المفرط.

أهدافنا

يسعى بنك الإمارات للطعام إلى تحقيق أهداف عدة على أكثر من صعيد:

اجتماعياً وإنسانياً

  • تعميق الحسّ بالمسؤولية والتعاطف إزاء الشرائح المجتمعية الأقل حظاً ومشاركتهم جزءاً من النعمة أو ما يفيض من طعام
  • تعميم الخير وتكريس ثقافة المنح والعطاء في المجتمع الإماراتي من خلال إشراك كافة فئات المجتمع، أفراداً ومؤسسات، في برامج وحملات ومبادرات "بنك الإمارات للطعام"
  • تفعيل المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات والمؤسسات، وتحديداً الفنادق والمطاعم ومحلات السوبرماركت والمزارع وقطاع إنتاج وتصنيع الأغذية وكل الجهات المعنية بقطاع الضيافة في الدولة، من خلال توفير "رأس مال" البنك الرئيسي، أي الطعام، وتغذية رصيد البنك بفائض الأطعمة، على نحو يعزز كفاءة البنك ويوسع دائرة نشاطه ويزيد حجم الشرائح المجتمعية التي تستفيد منه
  • إحداث تغيير في ممارسات وعادات وسلوكيات أفراد المجتمع لجهة عدم الإسراف في شراء الأطعمة وتقليل الهدر
  • تعزيز العمل التطوعي من خلال تشجيع مختلف فئات المجتمع على الانخراط في حملات وبرامج توعوية، ومبادرات خاصة تسهم في تسهيل وزيادة كفاءة آلية جمع الطعام الفائض وتوزيعه على الجهات المستحقة

اقتصادياً

  • توفير تكاليف التخلص من النفايات، حيث تبلغ هذه الكلفة في دبي وحدها نحو 282 مليون درهم سنوياً
  • توفير الأموال التي يتم إهدارها في الطعام الفائض أو الذي يتم التخلص منه
  • تعزيز اقتصاد "إعادة التدوير" وتفعيل الأنشطة التجارية والصناعية الخاصة به، عل نحو يكرس مفهوم الاستدامة

بيئياً

  • التقليل من الانبعاثات الكربونية المسؤولة عن التلوث وإحداث التغير المناخي
  • المساهمة في الحفاظ على التربة والماء من الاستنزاف، والحفاظ على الموارد الطبيعية للأجيال المستقبلية
  • التقليل من التلوث الكيميائي الناجم عن الأسمدة الكيميائية التي تستخدم في إنتاج المحاصيل الزراعية على نطاق واسع وتعزيز استخدام الأسمدة العضوية المصنعة من فائض الأطعمة